skip to Main Content
Ethinog

“Perfect accommodation. We spent a week at Eithinog to celebrate our wedding anniversary and it didn’t disappoint. The cottage was really well equipped and spotlessly clean. The cottage was very well laid out and was spacious and comfortable with every detail considered. Evan was extremely friendly and helpful and made our stay a pleasure. The welcome pack was a lovely touch. The cottage had great views from every angle and the hot tub was a bonus after our long walks and days out. We would most definitely recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing break in beautiful surroundings and we will certainly return.”

Best wishes for the rest of the year and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Debbie & Steve Kendrick
8th -15th October 2021

The property exactly matched the description on the website. It was warm and comfortable. The open-plan kitchen/living room was larger than expected. The kitchen was well equipped. The flooring throughout the property (both wood and tile) had a really lovely look and feel.

A very tranquil location, with comfortable outside seating. We loved the spotless hot tub with its views over the valley.

Evan, the owner made us feel very welcome, and would have dealt swiftly with any issues if there had been any!

Janis Apsa
Carole Apsa
Roland Imi
Helen Imi
Hertfordshire, 18-25 July 2021

What a fantastic place to stay, the views were outstanding and the cottage a real home from home with all the amenities with a fantastic welcome from Evan. The hot tub was lovely, we will be back as soon as we can. Thank you for a lovely holiday, the welcome pack a lovely touch as well.
Julie, Wynford, Dai, and Sharon. Bury Port. 17th May 2021.

We just wanted to say thank you for a wonderful stay. We loved the peace and tranquility of Eithinog and all the home comforts. We look forward to seeing you next year. Very best wishes.
Robin and Mandy Guest. Gloucester. 23-30 April 2021

Amazing place, amazing host, amazing views….book it…

Just arrived back from spending a week there for the first time. You will not meet a nicer host than Evan. He does everything he can for you to make your stay memorable. Sitting in the hot tub looking at the most spectacular view you will see is something you cannot put a price on. The accommodation is superb, the welcome pack you receive is by far the best we have ever had. Will I go there again, well Evan told me he has a guest who has stayed there 14 times, well Evan let’s see if I can beat the record as I will give it a good shot….thanks Evan for your generosity and your kindness…I will see you again very soon. Please thank your friends who lent us the mountain bikes it was much appreciated.
It was just what I needed that break.

Thanks again,
Mark Fry – August 2020

We had a great week, despite the weather. It started well with a welcome from Evan and when we looked around we were pleasantly impressed.
The cottage was warm, clean, well equipped and comfortable. I asked if we could buy some logs and Evan said he’d drop some in. Next morning the logs arrived and Evan told me they were included. I’ve always had to pay elsewhere.
We love the area and found everyone very helpful and friendly. Loved the hot tub, even in the rubbish weather.
Jim and Doz Smith, Liverton, Devon. 9-16 March 2020

Our daughter has stayed here before and invited us to come with them this time. What a lovely place, we can see why they wanted us to experience it too!
Lovely to meet you Evan, you have worked hard. We have had a lovely rest in a lovely place. Braved the hot tub, despite the weather! Thank you.
Penny and Arthur Dean. Nichola and Stephan, Eva and Eben Garde.
South Manchester. 17-20 February 2020

A fantastic week again to celebrate our Mother’s Wake three years ago.
We hired both cottages, fantastic weather for February. We used the hot tub every day. It was a family reunion for sisters, cousins , Auntie Kit and Janet.
Evan once more was an excellent host. The cottages are to a very high standard in all aspects. Thank you Evan.
Jill and Rich Starling. Gloucestershire. Ian and Ann Calder. London
Lue and Rex Frost. Exmouth, Devon. 3-7February 2020

A wonderful relaxing weekend, just what we needed, as always a beautiful warm, cosy cottage.
Thank you Evan.
Audrey and Ray Mayer. Cheshire. 16-19 January 2020

Helygen

Thank you Evan for another lovely holiday. As always the cottage was spotless and with the added bonus of a hot tub this year. We have really relaxed and enjoyed our stay. No worries about COVID as everything was in place.
Evan you are a delightful host available if needed but not intrusive and so kind. We wish you health and happiness.
Kassie also enjoyed her stay hope she didn’t bark too much.
Karen, Wayne and Pat.
11 – 18 September 2021

We had an absolutely wonderful time on our holiday. The cottage was beautifully decorated and equipped with everything we could have possibly needed during our stay. The views were stunningly breathtaking and the cottage truly is in a beautiful position that each window has a different yet equally gorgeous view! The nighttime view of the stars from the hot tub is far too magical for words! We spent a lot of time watching the wildlife, enjoying walks round the winding lanes and admiring the sheep! The local attractions guide is a must read as we had so many wonderful days out based on those! Evan is a true gentleman that takes the time to make sure you have everything you need and can provide you with any information you would like regarding the area along with wonderful conversation! Tuff is also a lovely little chap that always greets you with a friendly tail wag! We will definitely be returning!!
Hayley, Jonny & Penny
4 – 11 September 2021

What a brilliant place Tynrhelyg is! The comfort and cleanliness of the “Helygen” cottage, was matched by the kind welcome (croeso) of the owner Evan. The location of the cottages, above and away – but not too far – from the village of Talybont, provided a private and tranquil setting, to unwind, surrounded by the beautiful green hills of Ceredigion. We thoroughly enjoyed our week at this lovely house, and would love to return. Comfortable, well equipped and peaceful, “Helygen” cottage was a wonderful home from home – but with a hot-tub as well!
Derek,Sian, Hywel and Mair. Cardiff. 31st July to 7th August 2021

Am le bendigedig! Cawsom groeso arbennig gan Evan y perchennog, ac roedd y bwthyn ei hun yn gyfforddus a glân. Mae lleoliad “Helygen” mewn llecyn gwledig a thawel sy’n cynnig golygfeydd hardd o fryniau Ceredigion, ond eto o fewn cyrraedd i bentref Talybont. Fe wnaethom fwynhau pob munud o’n hamser yma ac fe fyddem wrth ein bodd yn ymweld eto, yn y dyfodol. Nid tŷ gwyliau ond cartref dros dro oedd “Helygen” i ni. Diolch Evan am y croeso twymgalon ac am y twba twym hyfryd!Derek,Sian, Hywel and Mair. Cardiff. 31st July to 7th August 2021

We wanted to get in touch to thank you for a brilliant family holiday. It was our first holiday with our 18 month old daughter, we had an amazing time, the host and the cottage made it. Evan is extremely friendly who takes great care of the cottages, gardens, hot tubs and is very accommodating. We stayed at Helygen which has spectacular views. We enjoyed spending time in the garden and on the terrace. In the evening we relaxed in the hot tub watching the wildlife. The cottage is extremely well located for many attractions. We enjoyed returning to the peace and quiet of the cottage after exploring the region. The cottage is an ideal base for those with little ones especially as the gardens are enclosed. The cottage is well equipped and feels extremely homely. We look forward to returning to the cottages in the near future.

Rebecca, Mike and Isabel, 17th-24th July 2021

If you enjoy peace and quiet with wonderful views of the Welsh valleys this is the place for you!
We stayed in Helygen, one of two adjoining properties which were originally dairy and cattle sheds. On arrival was welcomed by the owner Evan who lives on site, lovely man who is clearly very proud of his properties and Welsh roots with excellent knowledge of the area and its history.
Had a welcome gift package in the cottage which consisted of Milk, Cake, Chocolates and Wine which was much appreciated.
Very homely cottage with all the essentials including washing machine and dryer, plus both bedrooms have ensuites with additional bathroom downstairs meant no bathroom queues. The main attraction for us was the hotub! with a glass of wine and views of the Welsh hills what more could you ask for after a day out.
The local village of Tal Y Bon is at the bottom of the lane with a shop and pub, walkable if you are fit! Aberysthwyth is a short 15minute drive away and very convenient for mainline shops and supermarket plus is a nice town to walk around – Would recommend walking up or taking the cliff lift up Constitution hill for panoramic views of Wales – and on a good day Snowdon in the distance. Also recommend the Rheidol Railway steam train rides to Devils Bridge as a day out.
On days when you want to just walk there are plenty of pathways in the area to enjoy.
Loved this place and would highly recommend it.

Thanks again Evan

Mandy, Jim and Sue. 🙂

June 2021

Where do we start? We are seasoned ‘cottage holiday stayers’ and this one has to be one of the best we have ever stayed in. Firstly the renovation of the Tynrhelyg Holidays Cottages is superb, both Helygen and Ethinog are finished to a high standard and have spectacular views of the rolling countryside. The Helgyn cottage was very cosy and was equipped with everything you may need for your stay. The hot tub was just the icing on the cake really, it had complete views of the mountains along with the sheep and lambs that roam there. It really was idyllic.

Our host Evan was very welcoming and ensured our stay was a happy one. We would definitely recommend these cottages and already look forward to our return visit.

Thank you Evan,
Danielle and Family xxx
April 2021

 

Thank you again Evan for our most wonderful week staying in Helygen and for ordering perfect weather all week 😊☀️. This was our fifth visit to your cottages and we always feel so sad when we leave. The cottages are so comfortable and well equipped and we don’t go without anything and you always ensure we are completely looked after and provide all the information we need to maximise our holiday experience. We can’t even begin to describe the perfect peace when we sit in the garden looking the amazing views with a cup of coffee or an odd glass of wine!! We had great days out at the local beach – Ynyslas, trips to Aberdovey, Aberaeron, the Forest Visitor Centre and Red Kite feeding. We recommend the local cafe and community shop called Cletwr and the lovely pub called YFarmers and also the Black Lion in Talybont when it reopens. Machynlleth is also a lovely town to visit and especially Hannigans, their fish and chip shop.

We so look forward to when we can book our next visit and have our daily chats again that we miss so much. With all our love and very best wishes Evan

Michele, Dougie and Purdy (our dog who loves it as much as we do! 🐶)
12th – 19th August 2020

This is our third visit and we should be staying another week, but courtesy to the Coronavirus we have to return earlier than planned to Canada. We are very sad to be leaving as it seems untouched by the craziness happening in the World here at Evan’s lovely cottage. We are so glad to have our Welsh
“fix”, enjoying the beautiful spring flowers and the increasing lamb population.
Thank you Evan, the cottage is as wonderful as always. Many thanks for the delicious Welsh treats. We look forward to returning.
John and Pam Orange. Anten Mills, Ontario, Canada. 7-20 March 2020

We’ve had such a wonderful stay here- the cottage was cosy and the views were AMAZING. We all had the most incredible lunch at the White Lion, pudding was delicious and they had vegetarian options too. Despite the weather we’ve been able to get out for many walks including Walk 4 in the Ceredigion Walks book. On clear nights we also saw so many stars-lots more than when in Birmingham! We even saw some shooting stars!
Thank you so much Evan for being so kind and hospitable.
Mel, Andy, Mia and Erin. Birmingham. 14-21 February 2020

Wet,Wet,Wet,but we had a fabulous time. The cottage is a home from home, with everything you need. Bow Street fish & chip shop was a wonderful surprise. Well worth a visit for that lazy night in. We are so sad to leave but looking forward to our return visit! Thank you Evan.
Ann and Kevin Rutter, Bedfordshire. 12-19 Oct 2019

Llechwedd Mawr

This is a stunning cottage in a stunning location, you are literally on top of a mountain.
Despite arriving in appalling weather we were so delighted to arrive at this amazing off grid cottage. Evan had guided us up the track and kindly showed us around making sure we were comfortable and kept in touch to ensure we had everything we needed during our stay.
It was so relaxing being surrounded by sheep and watching the birds glide overhead.
We will be back next year and look forward to Evan’s generous welcome pack.

Malcolm and Julie (not forgetting our dog Diesel)
8 Nov 2021

We have had a lovely time, lots of walking, such an amazing place. Finally got up Punlumon Fawr on our last day walking from the cottage and saw the first people we have seen all our time here, just how we like it! Thanks for a great stay Evan we will be back.

Mark, Sarah, Isabel and Jake
October 2021

Llechwedd Mawr was an absolute hidden gem! Perfectly set amongst acres of beautiful tranquility surrounded by mountains, streams and wildlife.
After Evan gave us a warm greeting, we headed to the property, which was an exciting adventure in itself. We left behind people and tarmac and travelled through steep hills, forests, past cows, sheep and through a river. It was truly a realisation that we had achieved our goal of peace, tranquility and space.
The cottage was an absolute delight with all the modern features you would expect from hairdryers to WiFi. However, the views were beyond expectations overlooking the mountains and nearby river we spent many an evening sitting out on the terrace admiring the spectacular scenery.
If you are looking for an escape from the busy world, fresh air and amazing walking on your doorstep but still love your home comforts, then Llechwedd Mawr is the place for you.

Thank you Evan xxx
Natalie, Dave & Indiana

Sept 2021

 

We just wanted to say thank you so much for our wonderful week at Llechwedd Mawr. The cottage is truly unique being in such a stunning and peaceful location, being off grid but with every modern convenience that you need. We thoroughly enjoyed our week in the mountains and thank you for the basket of goodies on our arrival. We did not want to leave and hope to return soon.
Kind regards,
Tracey and Miguel

We discovered this lovely cottage last year and just had to come back again this year! Llechwedd Mawr is an absolute gem, beautifully presented and maintained, cosy and comfortable. The surrounding mountains are just breathtakingly beautiful and Llechwedd Mawr is secretly tucked away deep within them. Staying here is pure escapism and a total joy with nothing but sheep and birds for company and endless, fabulous walking in every direction!

Evan is a genuinely kind and considerate host, even providing a very tasty basket of goodies. Thank you so much Evan! We can not fault this wonderful cottage and can’t wait to come back again next year!

Wendy, Nick, Abbey and Tala the dog

Thank you so much for a very peaceful stay at Llechwedd Mawr, just what we both needed, I shall miss listening to the river trickling by and the sheep calling.  The cottage was warm, very comfortable and well stocked with everything we could possibly need – home from home!  The Welsh hamper was a lovely surprise and very tasty.  It is the little touches that made the start of the holiday even better.
Rob and I thoroughly enjoyed exploring the locality, the scenery is stunning and so peaceful.  We walked many miles from the cottage, especially exploring around the old lead mines and could still have found more paths to follow.
I would most definitely recommend your cottage for holidays and we hope to return at some point in the future.
Maureen & Rob (+Breeze and LouLou)

This property outshone what we expected. Everything we could possibly have wanted was there and to a very high standard. Evan was so friendly and helpful.10/10 from us no complaints whatsoever. We will be back.
Jan & Don Parker. Southampton.

Hi Evan, we’ve arrived home safely after a great week at your wonderful cottage. I’m sorry I didn’t get to speak to you personally as we left but I wish to thank you for the treats that awaited us and for your patience and help in showing us the workings of the solar systems etc and for the loan of your 4×4, I don’t think we would have made it across towards the end of the week without it! The cottage is extremely homely with good quality furnishings and appliances which we very much appreciated. The log burner was a welcome addition too. We are certainly coming away with some fantastic memories and wouldn’t hesitate to book another stay in the future.

With best wishes, Karen and family

September 2020

We stayed at the cottage during storm Dennis, although the weather was torrential rain and hailstones outside, inside the cottage was welcoming, cosy and comfortable.We still managed to enjoy lots of walks around the beautiful surrounding areas.We appreciated a visit from Evan who wanted to check that we were okay. We have loved staying here.
Matt ,Ali and Dilly the dog. Atherstone. 14-21 Jan. 2020

Reflection on all the notes of others it’s DITO for us! Our first time, feeling that one week is not enough.For sure we will come back,Bear the dog loved it too.
Richard and Margareta Mayhew. East Sussex. 26 Jan-2 Feb, 2020

Diolch am penwythnos anhygol mewn ardal mor hyfryd. Gnaethom fwynhau gyrru’r 4+4 drwyr afon! Byddwn yn ol.
Mal, Carol and Family. Port Talbot. 17- 20 Jan. 2020

Our 4th stay at our favourite cottage.Each time we fall in love with it even more.
Two weeks is still not enough time at this special place. Thank you Evan,see you next year.
Chris,Jana and Molly the dog. Seaford, East Sussex. 20 Dec 2019 -3Jan 2020

Back To Top
Close search
Search