skip to Main Content
Ethinog

Wow! Thank you Evan! We’ve had a wonderful week in your beautiful cottage, brilliant sunshine almost all week, so very lucky.
Fantastic scenery all around us, we went exploring all over the area and found great beaches for our dog, Peg to run along.
The kite feeding was a glorious sight and a must do!!
The cottage is stunning, exceptionally well equipped and no expense has been spared during its creation.
We all used the hot tub and it was lovely, thank you.
Last but no means least Evan was a fabulous host, great to chat to with a great sense of humour and wit, we all loved talking with him! A wonderful character!
We will be back Evan – Peg especially loved your little dog Taff
Thank you for everything – it’s been an absolute pleasure.
Nigel and Caz Quick. Kent. Wendy and Notty. Gloucestershire. 17- 24 June 2022

We have had a wonderful week staying here. The cottage has been perfect for our families, very safe for the babies.
We enjoyed the hot tub very much, very relaxing and gorgeous views!
The weather has been lovely and we have enjoyed some fabulous days out.
Evan has been very welcoming and helpful in our stay. Thank you for a lovely stay.
Rose, Peter and Sophia. Dublin. Domo, Annie and Andy. Manchester. 10 – 17 June 2022

What a wonderful week we’ve had. A great week of activities and relaxing.
The cottage is so well equipped and we felt at home from the moment we arrived.
The views are stunning and the weather has been kind. The hot tub has been well used!! Sunday lunch at the White Lion had us defeated, such large portions, but the food was lovely.
The walk back on a full stomach was a challenge! The boys loved Zip World, King Arthur experience and the beaches at Aberystwyth and Tywyn.
Thank you so much Evan. We hope to come and visit again.
Eve, Gary, Matt and Ollie. Bedford. 27May – 3 June 2022

We have visited Evan many times at the cottages.
His hospitality is second to none. He is the most generous Guy you wish to meet, his personality and character are great.
We stayed in Helygen last week and as Eithinog was empty this week we stayed on for few more days. We would have stayed the week but due to an event we had booked we had to go.
We are back in October and Christmas.
My daughter, husband and children stayed in the hill cottage ( Llechwedd Mawr ) which they enjoyed very much. The children had so much freedom. We even spent a day up there and they came down to see us.
We love it here.We only missed one year due to Covid. We travel to many places but always return here as it is such a relaxing place and to see Evan of course .
Thank you once again Evan for everything.
Mike and Alice. Stoke- on – Trent. 26 May- 4 June 2022

Another wonderful stay – we love it here! So magical to see the tiny lambs and our daughters were delighted to see a black lamb only minutes old.
Evan always makes us feel so welcome. Looking to be back again in the summer.
McGuire Family South Cambridgeshire

29 April – 2nd May 2022

This is our 3rd visit and every time we visit we find more stunning scenery and walks. Our two dogs love it here! We now call it our second home.
Thank you Evan for your continued hospitality and local knowledge.
The cottage is lovely, as always! We normally come September / October time, so seeing the lambs this time of year was lovely!
Thank you so much Evan! See you soon!
Sam, Vicki and the two dogs. Nottingham. 6 – 13 May 2022

 

Thank you Evan
We have had a lovely week away in this lovely cottage, in such wonderful countryside.
We had forgotten how stunning this area is. We will be back.
Margaret and Derrick. Leighton Buzzard. 13 – 20 May. 2022

This is our second visit – and it won‘t be the last. Arrived exhausted and under par. We are leaving relaxed and revived. Such a lovely peaceful setting with all the home comforts.
Wonderful walks, relaxing long lunches looking at that view – and even managed the hot tub a couple of times! Evan is welcoming, he is the icing on the cake! A very happy week.
Robbin and Mandy Guest. Gloucester.

22 – 29 April 2022

A lovely cottage in a peaceful and relaxing setting. April was a perfect time to visit and we were lucky with the weather. Evan made us feel very welcome. A great holiday.
Tam, Richard and Family. Buckinghamshire.

11 – 18 April. 2022

We have just returned from a fabulous long weekend at Eithinog cottage, Talybont. We visited with friends all of us needing a chance to recharge our batteries, relax and enjoy ourselves. From the start, the owner, Evan, was incredibly helpful (especially when we had to reschedule due to Covid) and there was a wonderful welcome pack, which was a lovely surprise. The place was spotlessly clean, the cottage was lovely and cosy and Evan was on hand to answer any questions we had. The hot tub was the icing on the cake. It was fantastic to sit outside and view the wonderful Welsh countryside and even stargaze with a glass of fizz in hand. It took us approx 20 mins to walk to the White Lion pub in the village. A perfect weekend break. Highly recommended and I’m sure we’ll be back.

Kindest regards
Fran Sutton
22 Feb 2022

“Perfect accommodation. We spent a week at Eithinog to celebrate our wedding anniversary and it didn’t disappoint. The cottage was really well equipped and spotlessly clean. The cottage was very well laid out and was spacious and comfortable with every detail considered. Evan was extremely friendly and helpful and made our stay a pleasure. The welcome pack was a lovely touch. The cottage had great views from every angle and the hot tub was a bonus after our long walks and days out. We would most definitely recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing break in beautiful surroundings and we will certainly return.”

Best wishes for the rest of the year and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Debbie & Steve Kendrick
8th -15th October 2021

Helygen

Such a fabulous place – clean, tidy, a great starting point for your holidays to begin. View amazing in rain or sunshine. Evan is a true gentleman, you can always call on him, like he says “if the car is there I’m in”
Our favourite restaurant to eat is The Wild Fowler, dog friendly when eating outside in the marque. Opposite the Wild Fowler there is a road to the beach, if you are a dog owner the dunes is the place to go.
We have had a fabulous stay – we will come back.
Sharon and Andy Griffin. Leicester. 18 -25 June 2022

Thank you Evan for a wonderful stay, we all loved your cottage and it’s wonderful surroundings. Our lovely St Bernard pup loved his holiday too.
Hope to see you again, we thoroughly enjoyed it. Thank you once again.
Maureen Pilmore. Leicester. 18-25 June 2022

Wow, Evan. Thank you so much for sharing this special place. We have loved every minute – from first arriving.
The views are spectacular ,the cottage was so clean and the hot tub was used twice daily! You are an amazing host.
We‘ve explored the local area and further afield too. We very much hope to visit again.
Jayne, Jim and Jasmine. Oxfordshire.

16 – 23 April 2022.

Thank you Evan for another lovely holiday. As always the cottage was spotless and with the added bonus of a hot tub this year. We have really relaxed and enjoyed our stay. No worries about COVID as everything was in place.
Evan you are a delightful host available if needed but not intrusive and so kind. We wish you health and happiness.
Kassie also enjoyed her stay hope she didn’t bark too much.
Karen, Wayne and Pat.
11 – 18 September 2021

We had an absolutely wonderful time on our holiday. The cottage was beautifully decorated and equipped with everything we could have possibly needed during our stay. The views were stunningly breathtaking and the cottage truly is in a beautiful position that each window has a different yet equally gorgeous view! The nighttime view of the stars from the hot tub is far too magical for words! We spent a lot of time watching the wildlife, enjoying walks round the winding lanes and admiring the sheep! The local attractions guide is a must read as we had so many wonderful days out based on those! Evan is a true gentleman that takes the time to make sure you have everything you need and can provide you with any information you would like regarding the area along with wonderful conversation! Tuff is also a lovely little chap that always greets you with a friendly tail wag! We will definitely be returning!!
Hayley, Jonny & Penny
4 – 11 September 2021

What a brilliant place Tynrhelyg is! The comfort and cleanliness of the “Helygen” cottage, was matched by the kind welcome (croeso) of the owner Evan. The location of the cottages, above and away – but not too far – from the village of Talybont, provided a private and tranquil setting, to unwind, surrounded by the beautiful green hills of Ceredigion. We thoroughly enjoyed our week at this lovely house, and would love to return. Comfortable, well equipped and peaceful, “Helygen” cottage was a wonderful home from home – but with a hot-tub as well!
Derek,Sian, Hywel and Mair. Cardiff. 31st July to 7th August 2021

Am le bendigedig! Cawsom groeso arbennig gan Evan y perchennog, ac roedd y bwthyn ei hun yn gyfforddus a glân. Mae lleoliad “Helygen” mewn llecyn gwledig a thawel sy’n cynnig golygfeydd hardd o fryniau Ceredigion, ond eto o fewn cyrraedd i bentref Talybont. Fe wnaethom fwynhau pob munud o’n hamser yma ac fe fyddem wrth ein bodd yn ymweld eto, yn y dyfodol. Nid tŷ gwyliau ond cartref dros dro oedd “Helygen” i ni. Diolch Evan am y croeso twymgalon ac am y twba twym hyfryd!Derek,Sian, Hywel and Mair. Cardiff. 31st July to 7th August 2021

We wanted to get in touch to thank you for a brilliant family holiday. It was our first holiday with our 18 month old daughter, we had an amazing time, the host and the cottage made it. Evan is extremely friendly who takes great care of the cottages, gardens, hot tubs and is very accommodating. We stayed at Helygen which has spectacular views. We enjoyed spending time in the garden and on the terrace. In the evening we relaxed in the hot tub watching the wildlife. The cottage is extremely well located for many attractions. We enjoyed returning to the peace and quiet of the cottage after exploring the region. The cottage is an ideal base for those with little ones especially as the gardens are enclosed. The cottage is well equipped and feels extremely homely. We look forward to returning to the cottages in the near future.

Rebecca, Mike and Isabel, 17th-24th July 2021

Llechwedd Mawr

” Llechwedd Mawr is a stunning cottage with everything you need to make your stay comfortable.
Surrounded by the most beautiful scenery it was peaceful with lots of space for our children to enjoy playing outside.
Every day we enjoyed walks up the hills and by the stream and in the evenings we enjoyed cozy nights by the fire.
On a clear night, the evening sky was covered in stars (perfect for stargazers).
Evan is the perfect host as always who made sure our stay was perfect from start to finish.
This cottage is perfect if you want to get away from it all and enjoy peace and tranquillity.”

The Weston Family

27th May – 3rd June 2022

What an absolutely amazing place. We have been going to Nant y Moch for a few years now but didn’t know Llechwedd Mawr existed. We are so happy that we have stumbled across this little gem. The drive up to the property is stunning and the property itself exceeded all our expectations. Evan was brilliant from the minute we booked and he looked after us really well.
There are red kites flying around the property constantly, this is a must for anybody who enjoys walking and cycling and just wants to get off grid for a while and chill out.
We will definitely be back as often as we can
Jan and Chris
7th May -11th May 2022

We would just like to say a Huge thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful cottage. We were a little nervous of the road at the start but we soon got used to it and it really wasn’t too bad at all.
The views from the cottage are stunning, and we loved the walks. We walked out the front down the track to look at the reservoir and saw tadpoles in the puddles and frogs spawn too.
Most evenings we walked to the ford and back enjoying the peace, just listening to the birds and the distant sheep. On occasions we sat outside with a drink, it was lovely with the sun on our faces, just relaxing.
We visited Aberystwyth, going up the Cliff railway, had lunch and walked back down, we do this every time we visit Wales. We went to Corris Craft Centre to the Chocolate Shop, Devils Bridge and the Butterfly House. We have done all these before but we love it.
We look forward to returning again soon (only special cottages get a second visit) and will certainly be recommending this stunning cottage to family and friends.
Thank you once again for everything, your kindness, and wonderful hosting.
Emily, Tim, Jim and Mollie. Kent. 8-15 April 2022

We have just returned from a fantastic three night stay at this lovely historic remote Welsh cottage.
If you love to get away from it all and be surrounded by beautiful Welsh mountains this is the place for you.
The accommodation was cosy and warm, with a log fire, perfect after a days walking in the hills.
To be able to just walk out of the front door straight into the hills was fantastic.
We walked up the hills to the cairns on top, and also saw the standing stones next to the river, and learned all about Owain Glyndwr!
We also spent a day at Ynyslas, on the beach, the dogs loved it!
You have to cross a river to get to the cottage which was exciting!, but we managed it in a ford van no problem, Evan the owner guided us through, and gave us the history of the place which he clearly loves.
The cottage has solar panels and gas heating, and a back up generator, so its really like going back in time, safe away from all the troubles in the world.
We loved it and will definitely be back.
Thanks Evan for your hospitality and well done on creating such a wonderful haven, not many places like it left.
Jo Jim and family-and the dogs!

25-28th Feb 20022

I had the privilege of spending last week at the iconic Llechwedd Mawr. Positioned at the end of a wide upland valley and built in an imposing position looking south towards where the river enters the Nant y Moch reservoir.
The farmhouse has been restored with love and imagination by Evan and his family.
I discovered it when I made a chance discovery whilst doing family history research. My great great grandfather Isaac Jones was born in the old house on the site in 1826. In the 1891 census, he gives his birthplace as ” Montgomeryshire, Llechwedd Mawr “. I Googled the name and found Evan’s website with its amazing photographs.
The house is warm and cosy with every facility that you could possibly want and with a lovely warm welcome from Evan.

During my stay Evan arranged for me to meet Erwyd Howells a local historian, a man who had worked as a shepherd at Llechwedd Mawr. It was a fascinating couple of hours.
Very many thanks and there are two words in Welsh that sum up Llechwedd Mawr, bendigedig and refeddol.
Bob Williams, Pontypridd
January 21st 2022.

 

This is a stunning cottage in a stunning location, you are literally on top of a mountain.
Despite arriving in appalling weather we were so delighted to arrive at this amazing off grid cottage. Evan had guided us up the track and kindly showed us around making sure we were comfortable and kept in touch to ensure we had everything we needed during our stay.
It was so relaxing being surrounded by sheep and watching the birds glide overhead.
We will be back next year and look forward to Evan’s generous welcome pack.

Malcolm and Julie (not forgetting our dog Diesel)
8 Nov 2021

We have had a lovely time, lots of walking, such an amazing place. Finally got up Punlumon Fawr on our last day walking from the cottage and saw the first people we have seen all our time here, just how we like it! Thanks for a great stay Evan we will be back.

Mark, Sarah, Isabel and Jake
October 2021

Llechwedd Mawr was an absolute hidden gem! Perfectly set amongst acres of beautiful tranquility surrounded by mountains, streams and wildlife.
After Evan gave us a warm greeting, we headed to the property, which was an exciting adventure in itself. We left behind people and tarmac and travelled through steep hills, forests, past cows, sheep and through a river. It was truly a realisation that we had achieved our goal of peace, tranquility and space.
The cottage was an absolute delight with all the modern features you would expect from hairdryers to WiFi. However, the views were beyond expectations overlooking the mountains and nearby river we spent many an evening sitting out on the terrace admiring the spectacular scenery.
If you are looking for an escape from the busy world, fresh air and amazing walking on your doorstep but still love your home comforts, then Llechwedd Mawr is the place for you.

Thank you Evan xxx
Natalie, Dave & Indiana

Sept 2021

 

We just wanted to say thank you so much for our wonderful week at Llechwedd Mawr. The cottage is truly unique being in such a stunning and peaceful location, being off grid but with every modern convenience that you need. We thoroughly enjoyed our week in the mountains and thank you for the basket of goodies on our arrival. We did not want to leave and hope to return soon.
Kind regards,
Tracey and Miguel

We discovered this lovely cottage last year and just had to come back again this year! Llechwedd Mawr is an absolute gem, beautifully presented and maintained, cosy and comfortable. The surrounding mountains are just breathtakingly beautiful and Llechwedd Mawr is secretly tucked away deep within them. Staying here is pure escapism and a total joy with nothing but sheep and birds for company and endless, fabulous walking in every direction!

Evan is a genuinely kind and considerate host, even providing a very tasty basket of goodies. Thank you so much Evan! We can not fault this wonderful cottage and can’t wait to come back again next year!

Wendy, Nick, Abbey and Tala the dog

Thank you so much for a very peaceful stay at Llechwedd Mawr, just what we both needed, I shall miss listening to the river trickling by and the sheep calling.  The cottage was warm, very comfortable and well stocked with everything we could possibly need – home from home!  The Welsh hamper was a lovely surprise and very tasty.  It is the little touches that made the start of the holiday even better.
Rob and I thoroughly enjoyed exploring the locality, the scenery is stunning and so peaceful.  We walked many miles from the cottage, especially exploring around the old lead mines and could still have found more paths to follow.
I would most definitely recommend your cottage for holidays and we hope to return at some point in the future.
Maureen & Rob (+Breeze and LouLou)

This property outshone what we expected. Everything we could possibly have wanted was there and to a very high standard. Evan was so friendly and helpful.10/10 from us no complaints whatsoever. We will be back.
Jan & Don Parker. Southampton.

Back To Top
Close search
Search